As this blog focuses on leadership there it is also more on the side of peer leadership (since we are talking about it in a collegiate setting). And although that may be similar to mentoring, I want to distinguish the difference between being a mentor and a peer leader.

I found this quote that I think does a good job and explaining a mentor’s position, “ A process for the informal transmission of knowledge, social capital, and the psychosocial support perceived by the recipient as relevant to work, career, or professional development;” (Bozeman and Feeney 2007).  This quote is found on the website http://www.nwlink.com/~donclark/index.html where they have a multitude of information regarding leadership, knowledge, etc.

Adding off of that quote into my own words (and through my own experience) I feel as with my leadership positions I don’t necessarily pass along knowledge but guide students into finding out that knowledge for themselves. Occasionally I’ll find myself passing information through my leadership but then I have to remind myself that’s not my position to influence anyone’s decision and I work really hard to make sure people have the resources to find the knowledge, etc. that they want.

 

