Obviously being a leader means having to communicate with those you’re leading, and more. Therefore public speaking will be a very important tool to have when becoming a leader. Public speaking doesn’t come naturally for majority of people, but can be learned.

The first tip to being a good public speaker in a leadership role is to practice active listening. That means, not to think ahead about your next statement but instead listen carefully to whoever you are speaking too.3-1_activelistening

Another tip is to own your feelings. If you get nervous talking in front of groups of people (big or small) tell them, let them know “I’m a little nervous right now so bear with me as I stumble my way through this.” Particularly, as a student leader expressing your feelings while speaking allows others (especially if you’re talking to other students), to empathize and focus more on your words.

Those 2 tips are solely from my experience using public speaking in my leadership roles at my university.

Here is a link to a website with 10 tips for public speaking…  http://www.toastmasters.org/tips.asp

